"Jerusalem Syndrome" among "Best of the Fest"

Posted By Peter D. Kramer On October 14, 2008 @ 6:53 pm In Awards | No Comments

"The Jerusalem Syndrome," with a book by Mamaroneck's Felicia Needleman and Laurence Holzman of Dobbs Ferry, won awards of excellence from New York Musical Theatre Festival today.

The musical, about a psychological anomaly in which visitors to Jerusalem become convinced they're figures from the bible, played six performances in the festival, which concluded its fifth season on Oct. 5, after 241 performances over the course of 21 days.

The New York Musical Theater Festival will honor the winners of the NYMF 2008 Awards for Excellence and producer Robyn Goodman at the fifth anniversary Season Awards Gala on Nov. 2 at The Hudson Theatre, 145 West 44th.

THE 2008 NYMF AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE:

Best of Fest Audience Prize: Idaho! by Buddy Sheffield and Keith Thompson **Runner-Up:** The Jerusalem Syndrome by Laurence Holzman, Felicia Needleman and Kyle Rosen

Most Promising New Musical: Bonnie & Clyde: A Folktale by Rick Crom and Hunter Foster **Honorable Mention:** Idaho! by Buddy Sheffield and Keith Thompson; Love Jerry by Megan Gogerty

Theater for the American Musical Prize in support of promising new American book musicals: The Jerusalem Syndrome by Laurence Holzman, Felicia Needleman and Kyle Rosen

Excellence In Writing (Music): Rick Crom, Bonnie & Clyde: A Folktale **Honorable Mention:** Paul Leschen, Bedbugs!!!; Drew Fornarola & Scott Elmegreen, College The Musical; Mira J. Spektor, Villa Diodati

Excellence In Writing (Lyrics): Drew Fornarola & Scott Elmegreen, College the Musical **Honorable Mention:** David Arthur, About Face; Rick Crom, Bonnie & Clyde: A Folktale; Laurence Holzman & Felicia Needleman, The Jerusalem Syndrome

Excellence In Writing (Book): Megan Gogerty, Love Jerry

Honorable Mention: Fred Sauter, Bedbugs!!!; Laurence Holzman & Felicia Needleman, The Jerusalem Syndrome

Excellence In Direction: Matt Lenz, Idaho!

Honorable Mention: Nick Corley, About Face; Mark Waldrop, Bonnie & Clyde; Hillary Adams,

Love Jerry

Excellence In Choreography: Matt Williams, Ward 9

Honorable Mention: Mark Knowles, That Other Woman's Child; Joshua Bergasse, Maurice

Brandon Curry, Daryl Gray, Jeff Shade and Shea Sullivan, Wild About Harry

Excellence In Overall Design: Idaho!

Honorable Mention: Twilight In Manchego, Villa Diodati

Outstanding Ensemble Performance: Love Jerry Honorable Mention: Bedbugs!!!, Play It Cool

Outstanding Individual Performances:

Celina Carvajal (Bedbugs!!!)
Donna Lynne Champlin (Love Jerry)
Chuck Cooper (Twilight in Manchego)
Harris Doran (Love Jerry)
Jodi Langel (I Come For Love)
Heather Laws (She Can't Believe She Said That!)
Cortlandt Manor's Sally Mayes (Play It Cool)
Caroline O'Connor (The Hatpin)
Brian Charles Rooney (Bedbugs!!!)
Josh Strickland (Play It Cool)
Barbara Walsh (About Face)
Kate Wetherhead (Wood)

The 2008 Awards jury included Dan Bacalzo (TheaterMania.com), Michael Berresse (actordirector). Marc Bruni (director), Amanda Charlton (Artistic Associate at Williamstown Theater Festival), Michael Dale (BroadwayWorld.com), Frank Evans (writer), Peter Filichia (The StarLedger), Jena Tesse Fox (BroadwayWorld.com), Tim Jerome (actor), Noel Katz (writer), Clifford Lee Johnson III (Director of Musical Theater at Manhattan Theatre Club), Patrick Lee (TheaterMania.com), Michelle Pawk (actor), and Susan Vargo (Director of Live Theatricals for Paramount and Nickelodeon).

Article printed from In the Wings: http://theater.lohudblogs.com